Annual Council Meeting 2023 – Minutes

Tuesday 27 June 2023; University of Tasmania, Launceston

Attendees:		See Table 1 below	
Apologies:		See Table 1 below	
ltem	Description		
1	Welcome and president's report: Simeon Simoff		
2	The audit Ca	er's report: Will Billingsley and financial report for 2022 was presented and accepted. arried nem con anged subscription rate of \$3850 was proposed for 2023 membership.	
	Carried nem con An amendment was proposed to the 2023 budget, to raise the expenditure on ALTA grants from \$50,000 to \$75,000. Carried nem con		
	being tak It was pro to \$60,00 coordinat approved amendme	was proposed for the 2024 financial year. Discussion focused on the steps en to reduce the balance to 1½-2 years' income. posed that the outlay on council operating expenses be raised from \$50,000 0, specifically to accommodate the services of a casual social media or, with executive to include this role in a clear communications plan to be by the membership. The budget was accepted by the meeting with this ent.	
3	Other bu	siness	
	restrictive	s some agreement that transport options to and from Launceston were e, and that it was easier to plan arrivals and departures at capital-city venues deration when planning future meetings.	
	easier for	reed that holding the ACM and the ALTA forum contiguously made things most member institutions, especially as many institutions send the same both. For consideration when planning future meetings.	



INFORMATION & COMMUNICATIONS TECHNOLOGY

ACDICT is entitled to send one or two delegates to STA's Science Meets Parliament. All who have attended agree that it is a thoroughly worthwhile experience. While ACDICT often sends a member of the executive, it was suggested that in future years we might open the opportunity to all member institutions.

It was agreed that ACDICT should make a submission to the parliamentary enquiry into generative AI in education. A shared document has been set up, and members invited to contribute to the document by Friday 7 July, with a view to formulating a response by the deadline of Friday 14 July.

The meeting workshopped the call for expressions of interest in 2023 ALTA grants, which is to be released soon.

Meeting closed 5.30pm

Minute taker:	Simon, ACDICT executive officer
Signed:	
Name:	Simeon Simoff, ACDICT President
Date:	



Table 1: Member universities and ACM delegates

Member university	Representative
Central Queensland University	Srimannarayana Grandhi
Charles Darwin University	Bharanidharan Shanmugam
Charles Sturt University	Michael Kemp
Curtin University of Technology	Apologies
Deakin University	Trina Myers (ACDICT immediate past president)
Edith Cowan University	Apologies
Flinders University	Greg Falzon
James Cook University	Dianna Hardy
La Trobe University	Prakash Veeraraghavan
Macquarie University	
Monash University	Judy Sheard
Murdoch University	
Queensland University of Technology	Jim Hogan
RMIT University	Karin Verspoor
Southern Cross University	Apologies
Swinburne University of Technology	Caslon Chua
The University of Adelaide	
The University of New England	Will Billingsley (ACDICT treasurer)
The University of Western Australia	Mark Reynolds
University of Canberra	
University of South Australia	Stewart Von Itzstein (ACDICT deputy president)
University of Tasmania	Anna Shillabeer (ACDICT executive member)
University of Technology Sydney	Rene Leveaux
University of Wollongong	Apologies
Western Sydney University	Simeon Simoff (ACDICT president)